Meanwhile it’s an idiots guide for blogging chapter 1*

Posted on

(on WordPress don’t know blogspot, sorry) I’m trying to be helpful!

Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging SL things, if you are new to this, or you didn’t mash enough buttons in wordpress there may be things you didn’t know before….. oooh

So, feeds, you all want to be on them, and there is a little bit of etiquette about feeds that you should be using in your blogs, firstly cuts, now, cuts are important because if you are pic happy and take dozens of photos, it’s a little obnoxious to take up an entire page of the feed, so what you do is introduce your post, put in a cool picture and if people would like to see more, they will click through, this will also assist you in raising your blog stats, the amount of views you get when you post.  Also, some feeds do not allow NSFW images, so you can place them under the cut and not risk being booted off a feed.

cuts

Click through for more…..

What I do is a double cut, because sometimes cuts don’t work on feeds….

cuts2

The other thing I’ve noticed on the feeds is massively large pictures.  Everyone loves a big picture, don’t get me wrong, but when the pics go off the side of the screen and all I can see is a bit of sky, you’ve gone too large.  I take large pictures myself, however I keep them from creeping into the sidebar by doing something nifty

idiots guide

idiots guide2

by setting my pictures to be a maximum 700pxl wide, It doesn’t matter if I upload a 4000pxl pic, it will always be 700pxls on your blog and on the feed.

On chapter 2, coming soon, if you use lensflare again I will smack your knuckles with a wooden ruler

* I’ve just came up with ideas!

Also, yes, I am aware that my recent gif bear pic was ginormous, I was learning gifs and ballsed it up, okay? don’t shoot me

7 thoughts on “Meanwhile it’s an idiots guide for blogging chapter 1*

    Bumblebee said:
    June 13, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    zomg, where have you been all my life lol! Thank you for the media settings tip!! I do have a question, If I’m uploading an image via URL, would it still matter?

      Darkley Aeon responded:
      June 13, 2013 at 10:51 pm

      I have uploaded both ways, and it seems to work 😀

    trialsofeyeliner said:
    June 13, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    The theme on my wordpress defaults to the column width so it never spills over no matter what the size- so it never occurred to me that the feed would look different. D’uh! Sometimes my own dorkness amazes me. Thanks for posting!

      Darkley Aeon responded:
      June 13, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      well, i was overdue on a good idea 😀

    Into the Labyrinth « Trials of Eyeliner said:
    June 14, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    […] I made some assumptions regarding formatting that were apparently wildly incorrect. Thanks to Ms. Darkley and her Idiots Guide, I learned something new […]

    Brian said:
    June 24, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    So many things I didn’t know about the cut thingy, thanks for sharing 🙂 As for the pictures, I limit the width to 600 on my blog because above that things get messy, but some pictures I like to share at a higher resolution so I upload these with a width of 1200 (double because that looks prettiest when squished to half) and then edit the picture settings to reduce it back to 600 (I have to get the calculator out to get the right height!), and then if a visitor clicks on a picture they will see it at the higher resolution (when available).

    Best breastplates | Pleisure said:
    July 22, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    […] the other side of it. At least I hope it’s a cut. Cuts have never worked for me before. But Darkley Aeon suggested I double bag. I mean double […]

Leave a Reply

