Meanwhile I hate morphs

Posted on

I wrote about morphs a couple of years ago for ShoppingCartDisco, my opinion hasn’t changed but if anything they are becoming even more popular, I am not going to out anyone specifically (I don’t want that shitstorm on me) but I am going to say why I hate morphs, and why they are doing a disservice to SecondLife creators and photographers.

1) Morphs are lazy – instead of taking the time to find a location, or set up your studio you are just taking a close up face shot, ignoring everything about the secondlife avatar apart from the eyes, nose and mouth.  A good quality SecondLife image takes time to set up, from finding the right place, the right pose, the right outfit and fiddling with windlight or shadows, I’ve heard Morphers state ‘its takes an hour in PS’ so what? it takes me that long and more to set up an inworld shot from start to finish.

2) You don’t need hair, clothes or poses to have a morph picture – most SL photographers/bloggers have an inventory stuffed with poses, props, hairs, clothes, shoes, but to be a morpher you dont need anything but a skin and eyes, we all know the avatar mesh is awful, but SL content creators have worked magic by making outstanding creations that make avatars look amazing, do you really think that ripping a image of a bird in a bikini from google images and slapping on a few sl details look better than a great inworld shot?

3) They look ridiculous – however ‘good’ someone is at PS, morphs always look jarring, I personally don’t even like RL scenes behind an SL avatar because of this, but in the case of a morpher that disjointedness is multiplied x 1000.

4) They often involved taking an existing artwork without permission, nuff said really, search flickr and you will see a lot of deviantart artists work ripped and bastardised, with 100s of commenters telling the morpher how fucking marvellous they are, and what a great artist they are, seriously?

5) They are ugly, stop it. – Search flickr for SecondLife and you will invariably see lots of morphs, and I’m embarassed on your behalf, are we really that lacking in creativity that we have to resort to morphs? What must people outside SL think of us when they see these things, and see how many people love them?

28 thoughts on “Meanwhile I hate morphs

    Grazia said:
    May 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    I kinda love you HARD right now!!

      darkleyaeon responded:
      May 23, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      There is one positive thing about morphers, when you see a morph image, you know to avoid that person, because they obviously have no class 😉

    Fury said:
    May 23, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Wow! I am so with you on this, well said!

    Midi said:
    May 23, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    yes, yes, a thousand times yes.

    ZennyB said:
    May 23, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    I hate morphs with a passion..I think they are nasty and tacky. Sadly i have a few friends on SL who think they are wonderful and use them as profile pictures..adds them to the ban list when she takes over control of SL (This will happen when hell freezes over)

    darkleyaeon responded:
    May 23, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Thanks guys 🙂 I am glad I am not the only one who hates them, sometimes you think ‘maybe I am the only one who sees it like this?’

    Free Xue said:
    May 23, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    You forgot to mention the uncanny valley effect most people get from them. On other words, they CREEP PEOPLE OUT.

    Beulah Mills said:
    May 23, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    LOVE this post, I will never understand why anyone does this.You are right about warning you to avoid people though, it shows who they are when they do morphs or support them

    devilnesschant said:
    May 23, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    While I’m the strange woman standing in front of a sale sign going threw my inventory looking for the right things to wear to blog something.
    I have to say that I’ve worked with imaging and some things are not as easy to make as they look.
    Another thing I would like to point out is that even though I hate abstract art, many ppl love it.
    We are all entitled to our opinions, but to judge others for them to me is wrong.
    I do respect your opinions and hope that you respect mine. 🙂

    Beulah Mills said:
    May 23, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    I agree there are different styles to art, some you will like and some you will not. That is not the point here, the big reason morphs are a problem is this. People take photos, 99.9% of the time the never ask can they use it , then they doctor it and claim it as their own work of art. 99.9% never point you in the direction of the real photo either. That is stealing and wrong.

    GM Nikolaidis said:
    May 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    agree 100%. even IF the morpher takes the time to work the light, shadows, and skin tone to perfection, it’s still 1-theft, 2-not creative, 3-lazy.

    Harlow Heslop said:
    May 23, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    bahahahahaha. I posted on plurk today that I wanted to do a reasons why I hate morphs post and you took the words right from my mouth! This post is perfect! I’m cracking up! NICELY SAID! ❤

    Stephen Venkman said:
    May 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Doesn’t like Morphs either. It’s one thing to put together a collage of images that you own, are free, or are purchased, but it’s another and please don’t call it artistic, to pull a fashion model picture from the internet,(permissions I’m sure not granted), and slap a sl face over it. Nothing artistic about that at all in my humble opinion.

    devilnesschant said:
    May 23, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    I’ve seen waaaaaaaay too much pirated stuff in sl. If you want to talk about that, then yeah those ppl should be prosecuted for theft.
    As far as altering legal to use images, then I have no problem with it.

    darkleyaeon responded:
    May 23, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    So because other people rip stuff, its ok for morphers?

    Sorry, fail

    My biggest issue with morphed images is that they are butt ugly

    Winnie said:
    May 23, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    I agree, they are creepy and I do cringe when I see a horrid morph with tons of comments and other very well done mostly SL images getting barely any comments. The worse thing I have seen is a designer/creator using morphs to display their skins…wtf? That means the skin won’t even be true to what you are actually going to buy.

    Doremi Luv said:
    May 24, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I love you already ❤

    Carthalis said:
    May 24, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Don’t like morphs either and agree with everything you’ve said Darkley. There’s so many amazing and gorgeous places in SL to take pictures that can be used as backdrops, but yet they resort to using images of celebrities and it shows nothing of our amazing virtual world.

    jeremy said:
    May 29, 2011 at 7:28 am

    Damn Darkley, you still are not giving up? You are following others since 2.5 years now, you even use backgrounds also from Deviantart. Are they even credited? Only cause you have no talent in Regular Photography even you have to hunt others? You say that a reg takes you one hour, sorry, but i think THAT is slapping an avi on a background. Please try growing up. AND PLZZZZ get another hobby then hunting others. Nice day all

      darkleyaeon responded:
      May 29, 2011 at 9:48 am

      Where do i use any backdrops from Deviantart? all my pictures are taken on location in SL, and please, can you put your SL name to your comment as otherwise you run the risk of everyone thinking you are a coward

      kthxbye

      Xiomara Mendes said:
      May 29, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      You create morphs, don’t you Jeremy?

      Don Mill said:
      May 29, 2011 at 7:34 pm

      I have no clue whether Darkley has a RL photographic skill or not. She is an extremely good artists when it comes to SL pics.

      As to the hunting, give me a clue of who is hiding behind your keyboard and I will gladly oblige.

        darkleyaeon responded:
        May 29, 2011 at 7:35 pm

        I was a RL photographer, before I had my kids, although completely unglamourous as it was medical photography

    jeremy said:
    May 29, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    I DON´T care what others think. I remember there were times you took backgrounds from deviantart as u caused shit already (2 years ago) at a photostudio ONLY to get ur damn attention. To see here : http://shoppingcartdisco.com/digitallife/op-ed-digitallife/morphing-breaks-copyright/
    i think you must be REALLY REALLY bored in RL or you wouldnt take it as a LIFE thing to hunt others lol. I am extreme embaressed for you. Oh and that IS my SL name, maybe as you can see everybody uses only frontname so i dont see the biggie of me also doing it. Please Darkley do others a favor and freaking get a RL. Bye

      darkleyaeon responded:
      May 29, 2011 at 7:09 pm

      My SL name is Darkley Aeon, whats yours?

      And that deviantart stuff? It was Credited, at the time, because it was from a web tutorial, using Stock Deviantart images

      That Shoppingcartdisco post was written 18months ago, I havent written about it since, how on earth are you taking this as a personal insult? I don’t know you, this post doesn’t out anyone specifically at all, yet you seem extremely butthurt about it.

      Walker said:
      May 29, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      “Oh and that IS my SL name, maybe as you can see everybody uses only frontname so i dont see the biggie of me also doing it.”

      It’s called credibility, and by attacking a specific individual repeatedly without having the balls to reveal your SL identity, you have none of it.

    Beulah Mills said:
    May 30, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Anyone who will not put a full name to any comment has no balls. I remember that blog post way back then and sadly folk are still making shitty morphs so it is good this subject was brought up again. To much real money is being made from poor, lazy work using stolen photos. Jeremy you must be one of the lazy sods doing this, why else would you get this silly and personal.

Leave a Reply

